- Buyer's Guide
- Got A Question?
FOLSOM, Calif. — On Jan. 1, California law changed from carwash owners needing to put down a $15,000 surety bond to one for the amount of $150,000, according to a press release.
Many carwashes, especially smaller ones, are having a difficult time coming up with the money for the bond.
In the release, the WCA states that it “is currently in the process of working with lawmakers and other stakeholders in Sacramento on legislation to reduce the bond requirement while increasing penalties for operating outside of the law.”
Read also: PC&D March issue
Sander Romick, chairperson of the legislative committee of the WCA agrees that employers who are not following the law in regards to worker treatment deserve to be punished. However, he thinks the law is punishing the wrong people. “Those that usually break labor laws and pay inadequate wages to their employees are unlikely to be bonded anyways,” he said.
Romick doesn’t believe all washes deserve to be punished because of those that don't follow the law. “Increasing the surety bond does not get at the heart of the problem and winds up punishing legitimate carwash businesses.”
Related: California drought articles
The organization is encouraging its members, and also non-members, to voice their opinions to lawmakers.
Below are some suggestions and talking points that the WCA encourages California car wash operators to use when contacting their representatives in both the California Assembly and Senate:
Related: WCA articles
To visit the WCA website, click here
To contact your California State Assembly and State Representative click here