California passes minimum wage law
The Los Angeles Times reports the hike will go into effect in two phases. The wage will increase from the current $8 an hour to $9 an hour on July 1, 2014 and then to $10 an hour on Jan. 1, 2016.
"Our society over the last 30 years … has experienced a growing gap between those who do work at the bottom and those who occupy the commanding heights of the economy," Brown said during thesigning event.
Business groups, including the California Restaurant Association and California Chamber of Commerce, vocally opposed the new law saying small businesses cannot afford to pay more.
"Small business owners' hopes have once again been dashed with a stroke of Gov. Brown's pen," John Kabateck, executive director of the National Federation of Independent Business in California, said in the story."[The new law] will only cement California's status as the worst place to start a business."
To read the full story click here.