Professional Carwashing & Detailing

The Top 50 List

October 11, 2010
Presidents and CEOs of the nation’s largest conveyor carwash chains were busy in 2007. From Mace’s dramatic fall from second to 19th place to the surprising leaps and bounds of Mister Car Wash, the Top 50 list maintained a steady presence in the news. Autobell maintained its steady growth; Wash Depot acquired its first sites in nearly four years; and Car Wash Headquarters, a promising eight-store chain, disappeared completely as it was acquired in the aggressive growth spurt of Mister Car Wash.

In addition to the movement by Top 50 veterans, the list also welcomed four newcomers: Boomerang Carwash, the spin-off of Rapido Rabbit’s failed attempt to franchise; Bubbles Car Wash, a unique conglomeration of hand wash and express exterior sites based in Houston; Cactus Enterprises, the chain that acquired Mace’s 12 Arizona stores; and Car Wash USA Express, a project by Ray Holley, CEO of Carwash Superstore, a carwash equipment distributor and supplier.

Sold site(s) in 2007:
Turtle Wax (2), Triangle Car Wash (2), Car Wash Headquarters (8), American Auto Wash (1)

Added site(s) in 2007:
Octopus Car Wash (4), Wash Tub (1), Golden Nozzle (2), Super Car Wash (1), Waterway (1)

Site(s) under construction in 2008:
Autobell (1), Waterway (1), Fabulous Freddy’s (1)

Plans for additional site(s) in 2008:
Goo Goo (12), Carnett’s (5), Prime Shine (1), Shur-Kleen (1)


Rank
Carwash
Website
Locations
1 Wash Depot, Malden, MA www.washdepot.com 76
2 Mister Car Wash, Tucson, AZ www.mistercarwash.com 60
3 Autobell Car Wash, Charlotte, NC www.autobell.com 49
4 Mike’s Express Car Wash, Indianapolis, IN www.mikesexpress.com 35
5 Delta Sonic, Buffalo, NY www.deltasoniccarwash.com 28
6 Original $2 Car Wash, Livonia, MI
25
7 Octopus Car Wash, Albuquerque, NM www.octopuscarwash.com 24
8 Goo Goo Car Wash, Columbus, GA www.googoocarwash.com 22
9 Brown Bear Car Wash, Seattle, WA www.brownbear.com 21
10 Regal Auto Wash, Scottsdale, AZ www.regalautowash.com 21
11 Wash Tub Car Wash, San Antonio, TX www.washtubcarwash.com 21
12 American Auto Wash, Inc., Malvern, PA www.gasnwash.com 20
13 Splash Car Wash, Stamford, CT www.splashcarwashes.com 20
14 Turtle Wax, Chicago, IL www.turtlewaxcarwash.com 18
15 Russell Speeders, Norwalk, CT www.russellspeeders.com 18
16 Boomerang Carwash, North Little Rock, AR www.boomerangcarwash.com 17
17 Danny’s Family Carousel Car Wash www.dannysfamily.com 17
18 Golden Nozzle Car Wash, Springfield, MA www.flroberts.com 17
19 Waterway Gas & Wash Co., St. Louis, MO www.waterway.com 17
20 ScrubaDub, Nattick, MA www.scrubadub.com 17
21 Mace Security, Mt. Laurel, NJ www.mace.com 16
22 Kaady Car Wash, Portland, OR www.kaady.com 16
23 Carnett’s Car Washes, Liburn, GA www.carnetts.com 15
24 Car Spa, Inc., Dallas, TX www.carspa.net 14
25 Letavis Cloth Wash, Swartz Creek, MI
14
26 Triangle Car Wash, Palmyra, PA www.trianglecarwashes.com 14
27 Fuller’s Car Wash, Brookfield, IL www.fullerscarwash.com 13
28 Scrub-a-Dub, West Allis, WI www.scrubadub.biz 13
29 Bubbles Car Wash, Houston, TX www.bubblescarwash.com 13
30 Car Wash USA Express, Byhalia, MS
12
31 Hoffman Car Wash, Albany, NY www.hoffmancarwash.com 12
32 Twisted Cactus Express, Phoenix, AZ
11
33 Haffner’s Car Care Group, Lawrence, MA www.haffners.com 11
34 Mr. Sparkle, South Windsor, CT www.mrsparklecarwash.com 10
35 Shammy Shine, Milford, NJ www.shammyshine.com 10
36 Super Shine Auto Wash, Braintree, MA www.supershineautowash.com 10
37 Elephant Car Wash, Auburn, WA www.elephantcarwash.com 9
38 Mr. Wash Car Wash, Washington, D.C. www.mrwash.com 9
39 PDQ, Green Bay, WI www.pdqcarwash.com 9
40 Prime Shine Car Wash, Modesto, CA www.primeshine.com 9
41 Super Car Wash, Royal Oaks, MI www.supercarwash.net 9
42 Washman, LLC, Portland, OR www.washmanusa.com 9
43 Arizona Auto Wash, Mesa, AZ www.arizonaautowash.com 8
44 Beacon Bay Enterprises, Costa Mesa, CA www.beaconbay.com 8
45 White Glove of Delaware, Wilmington, DE www.whiteglove.com 8
46 Car Pool, Inc., Richmond, VA www.carpool-llc.com 7
47 Fabulous Freddy’s, Las Vegas, NV www.fabfred.com 7
48 Peterson’s Soft Cloth, Staunton, VA www.petersons1.com 7
49 Shur-Kleen, Mill Creek, WA www.shur-kleen.com 7
50 Terrible Herbst, Las Vegas, NV www.terribleherbst.com 7